Unbiased look at the Sint Maarten Elections

St Maarten Elections In The News Back to News Listing

Exclusive: ProsecutorS Office Delays Swearing In Of Omar Ottley.

Source: SMN-News 26 Mar 2020 07:11 PM

~Swearing imminent is their class justice at the Prosecutors Office.~

PHILIPSBURG:--- Reliable information reaching SMN News states that the incoming Minister of VSA Omar Ottley may have to wait a bit longer than usual to be sworn in as Minister of VSA, while the other Ministers forming the National Alliance and United Peoples Party coalition may take office anytime soon.
Sources say that the swearing-in ceremony may take place between Friday, March 27th and Monday, March 30th.
SMN News has been reliably informed that the screening process that has been ongoing for the past eight weeks has been delayed because the Prosecutors Office requested more time to further investigate Ottley.
SMN News further understands that while questions were asked to the Prosecutors Office as to reasons for the delay since the other candidate Ministers all got their clearance two weeks no clear answers were given.
The source said it is was only a few days ago when the formateur insisted that she gets the report for Ottley so that the report for the governor could be submitted, that is when the Prosecutors Office said they were busy with an investigation but have not divulged any information to anyone as to what they are investigating.
SMN News learned that Ottleys lawyers wrote the Prosecutors Office and they too did not obtain a response.
MP Omar Ottley is the nephew of former Member of Parliament Franklin Meyers who also was not able to pass screening to become the countrys Prime Minister and Ottley is also the nephew of Etienne Meyers.
Questions are now being raised by several politicians as to the reasons why some persons that have questionable background are able to pass the screening process while locals that were duly elected by the people are prevented from working for their people.
Incoming Ministers are:

Silveria Jacobs --- Prime Minister
Ardwell Irion --- Minister of Finance
Anna Richardson --- Minister of Justice
Rodolph Samuel --- Minister of Education
Ludmilla de Weever --- Minister of TEATT
Egbert Jurendy Doran
Rene Violenus --- Minister of Plenipotentiary
Richard Panneflec --- Acting Minister of Plenipotentiary

SMN News further understands that while the Prosecutor Office continues its investigation on the candidate Minister of VSA MP Omar Ottley then Ludmilla de Weever will be the acting Minister of VSA.

Anna Rabess-Richardson mentioned 1 time
Franklin Meyers mentioned 1 time
Silveria Jacobs mentioned 1 time
Ardwell Irion mentioned 1 time
Rene Violenus mentioned 1 time
Egbert Jurendy Doran mentioned 1 time
Omar Ottley mentioned 3 times

National Alliance [NA] mentioned 1 time
United People's Party [UPP] mentioned 1 time Corner Stone Solutions NV